Voting is not secret!!

15 11 2008

I am surprised and outraged. I thought voting was secret, but it is not!!

When I went to vote for these recent elections I had to fill out a form with my name and address, then they wrote the ballot number on that form, after I was done filling out my ballot they took out a strip with the ballot number and attached it to the form with my information, and then they recorded both in a book.

Where is the secret? The did not see what I wrote but they can easily find out!! it is outrageous!!

After the election I have been hearing statistics, African Americans voted this way, Latinos voted this way, young people voted this way… I heard an analyst saying that he was surprised to see that most new citizens, coming from a certain specific country voted for Obama. How does he know that?

I found this in wikipedia

In the United States, sometimes the number on the ballot is printed on a perforated stub which is torn off and placed on a ring (like a shower curtain ring) before the ballot is cast into the ballot box. The stubs prove an elector has voted and ensure he can only vote once, but the ballots themselves are anonymous. At the end of voting day, the number of ballots inside the box must match the number of stubs on the ring, certifying that every ballot was cast by a registered elector, and that none of them were lost or fabricated. (I added the bold)

In my polling place, you had a private spot to mark your ballots, that was the extent of the anonymity; the ballot stub was kept together with my personal information.

I can hear people now calling me naive … I guess I am 😦

Actions

Information

4 responses

17 11 2008
Stop it Now!

Yes, this is just one method used to tell which way people vote, but if you think about it, the US government as well as the UK (now anyway), can even track voting intentions via their ability to track mobile phone calls, internet traffic and emails. Truth be told, we are all sleep-walking into an environment where the state controls the people, not the other way around.

15 12 2008
Johnny Peepers

Individual expectations of privacy are eroding at a quickening pace. Although this is a threat to individualism, it is unavoidable in the information age. We are all reduced to group identifiers to make us more easily manageable. Age, sex, income, racial and ethnic categories, consumer habits, political affiliations are the tools our handlers use to compartmentalize and divide use -ultimately from each other. As the privacy barriers dissolve, we will be forced to acknowledge the undifferentiated whole that makes up humanity, and the universe. In that respect, I can see the positive side of this matter.

20 12 2008
expat21

I’m guessing this situation came about from the malfunctioning voting machines and “hanging chad” problems in Florida a few years ago. It seems to me paper ballots could be recounted easier than voting machines, but I’m really not an expert. They probably wanted to make sure votes COULD be recounted if necessary.

Expat 21
“Expat Abroad” in the Middle East
expat21.wordpress.com

21 12 2008
mrsblack

Hey there,
Your naive!

Good article 🙂

Leave a Reply

