How to be a real “American”

6 03 2008

Every time I find something that is “true American” and I don’t know or have never tried, I get this or a similar comment, you won’t be a “real American” until you try or know this or that.

For Example, I explained in a previous post that I have never had peanut butter and jelly sandwiches, I still haven’t. I also reported the first time I tried cream of wheat.

I have to make a small aside here. I was born and grew up in South America, where we consider ALL people born in the Americas, North, Central, and South, to be AMERICAN, not just people from the U.S. For the purpose of this post I am referring to U.S. Americans.

I want to make a poll, if anybody reads this. Tell me what are those things that you must have done, know, or have tasted to be considered a true American?

A lot of them would be things that you take for granted and that can’t even imagine that other people don’t do or have never tried.

Think about peanut butter, which is not common in other parts of the world, elephant ears, corn dogs (I usually have to explain those to people).

Maybe you have met somebody from another country or culture, or have a friend abroad that did not know about chili dogs.

How about songs that defined an era, do you know people that never heard it? How about expressions, movies, famous people? I had some friends asking me what the big deal was with that guy O.J. Simpson, who is he?

I bet you can think of something…throw me a line

Actions

Information

3 responses

6 03 2008
johnnypeepers

As a South American, I will excuse your lack of knowledge as to what makes one a True American. I recommend you get a crash course by listening to Jeff Foxworthy stand-up routines, check out a Nascar race, and buy only Bud Light 18-packs for your alcohol needs. That is what makes me a Real American.

Toodles 🙂

6 03 2008
dmoyejita

Johnny, thanks for your suggestion and let me tell you that I think I am in the right track, I have been to a Nascar race, professional, college and high school football games, and I have listened to Mr. Foxworthy’s stand-up, I guess I still yet to drink the 18 pack…

6 03 2008
johnnypeepers

2/3 ain’t too bad. I think it gives your the right to get a temporary Real American ID card. Please report to your nearest FBI field office and provide blood and saliva samples, fingerprints, iris scan, and stool sample (if it can be produced at the time of visit). I will be happy to be a reference on the application.

Good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

