Hello I come in peace, or in pieces…?!?!?!

18 01 2008

This is my attempt to share life from the perspective of the other, that one that is not ‘one of us’, that outsider that gets your attention, sparks curiosity, can be an annoyance and even trigger fear.  The foreigner, the immigrant, the one with the accent…that’s me.

When I first moved to this country, a few years ago, I had a ‘clear image’ of what I was going to find, or so I thought!! From watching movies, TV shows and a few vacations, you think you have a good idea of what the culture is. I thought I knew enough, I could speak the language, the weather might be an issue but I was in loooooove.

Let me track back… I first came here to visit my then fiancé, now husband, and figure out if I wanted to live here. I had always liked the culture, the people, the way of life, and I wanted the seasons. Where I come from it is always summer, dry or rainy, warm or really hot. I would come and go for a while until we were finally married and it was time to stay for good.

I want to offer the view from the other side, that outsider/insider mix, mi experience as an Alien, in a new country, playing a different game and with a new set of rules. This will not be a hate fest or a love fest. I don’t want to be overly critical, although sometimes it might seem like that. There are things that I still do not understand and I would ask of you, yes you, to help me.

Please share with me your impressions and your own experiences. The one thing I have learned by moving to another country is to be open see things and myself from other perspectives.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

